Skip to content

::Devotional:: “The Joy of Forgiveness”

February 2, 2010

Every Tuesday morning I have a standing appointment at 6:30 am with a friend of mine.  My friend is a man of God that I respect deeply.  We’ve been meeting for many weeks now and occasionally we’ll communicate and have to miss an appointment here or there but for the most part it has been week in and week out.  Until this morning when I missed our appointment!

Before heading to be last night I sent out an email to him lining up a few things to talk about for this morning’s appointment, set my alarm, and off to sleep I went.  Next thing I know its 7:45 am this morning.  I totally missed my appointment with him!  My stomach sank and I contacted him immediately.  I felt embarrassed, ashamed, and disrespectful towards his time.  I was in dire need of his forgiveness, which he so kindly gave.  Without it, I would have been groaning in my shame and embarrassment all day long.  His forgiveness set me free from all of that.

With all of this heavy on my mind this morning I came to God’s word and was reminded of just how powerful the Lord’s forgiveness of all my sin is to me.  David wrote:

Blessed is he whose transgressions are forgiven, who’s sins are covered.  Blessed is the man whose sin the Lord does not count against him and in whose spirit is no deceit.  Psalm 32:1-2

We’ve all heard that honesty is the best policy and in this passage we find that concept underlined.  David said that those who’s sins are forgiven and “blessed”, which is in the plural sense here meaning a host of happiness or bundles of joy; a double dose of happiness.

David also wrote that the man who is forgiven holds no deceit, or guile, in his spirit.  I had to lookup the definition of guile on dictionary.com this morning and it said “insidious cunning in attaining a goal; crafty or artful deception; duplicity.” Why does a man who is forgiven not carry deception in his heart?  Well, why would a man vainly try to justify his actions through deceit when through honesty he can be forgiven?  Honesty is the best policy remember?

I am thankful for my friend’s forgiveness this morning.  I can’t imagine how this day would have gone for me without it.  I am also thankful for my Lord’s forgiveness.  I can’t imagine how my life would be without it.

-Stay Rooted Col 2.7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

