Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Standing On Psalm 1’

January 21, 2010

I’m a goal oriented type person.  For some reason I feel lost without something to work on or work towards.  Almost like I have no purpose without that you know?  Over the years I have achieved many of my goals, but at the same time I have missed many goals as well.  While I missed my goal of playing professional football I achieved my goal of graduating college with a Bachelor’s degree.  That’s par for the course I reckon.  Nevertheless I’m driven by goals.  Recently I was reminded of one of my spiritual goals when teaching through Psalm 1.

1 Blessed is the man who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked or stand in the way of sinners or sit in the seat of mockers. 2 But his delight is in the law of the Lord, and on his law he meditates day and night. 3 He is like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in season and whose leaf does not wither. Whatever he does prospers.  Psalm 1:1-3

Studying the Bible is very important to me.  It has increasingly become more and more of a priority in my life over the past few years, but it is not study simply for the sake of study.  My goal is not to acquire more knowledge about the Bible, but to become more Christ like and to understand that which God has chosen to reveal of himself to me through his word.  I desire to delight more and more in the law of the Lord and to meditate upon it daily.

Psalm 1 describes a man who is like a tree planted by the streams of water, who bears fruit in due season.  The fruit that I desire to produce is the fruit of the spirit which Galatians 5 says is “love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control.”  I believe that’s Christ like fruit.

A comment from a friend of mine last night reminded me that one prayer we can be 100% sure that God will answer is the prayer that requests his power to get us deeper into his word.  Join me in having the goal of delighting in the word and meditating upon it daily.  Let’s experience God’s power as he produces fruit from our lives that brings glory to his name.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

