Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Standing On Ephesians 4:11-13’

January 20, 2010

I’ve had it in my mind over the past several years that nervousness is a good thing because it keeps me dependent on God.  I believe that to be 100% true.  Especially this morning.  I have the opportunity to teach a new class at church starting tonight on how to study the Bible and needless to say I’m a bit nervous.  That’s a good thing!  In my prayer time this morning I talked honestly with God and I came away from that time with confidence.  Confidence not in myself, but confidence in God.  My confidence comes in knowing that this class and this opportunity, for everyone involved, is in line with God’s will.

On my end of the deal I have studied, read, prayed, and prepared over the past several months.  My wife can vouch for the hours I’ve put in.  Yet there’s always more to study, more to read, more to pray, and more to prepare.  In other words, I can always do more on my end.  Through experience I’ve come to realize that at a certain point you just have to go with what you have.  I know teachers/pastors/speakers who have prepared all the way up to the podium, myself included, in an effort to make sure they have prepared enough.  For me, feeling prepared is only a small part of the nervousness that I experience.

The majority of my nervousness comes from realizing the awesome opportunity God has provided for me to be involved in what He is doing around me.  I can say with complete confidence that I believe this class tonight and everyone involved are in the midst of God’s will because my confidence comes from His word.  I’m standing on Ephesians 4:11-13 this morning.

It was he who gave some to be apostles, some to be prophets, some to be evangelists, and some to be pastors and teachers, 12 to prepare God’s people for works of service, so that the body of Christ may be built up 13 until we all reach unity in the faith and in the knowledge of the Son of God and become mature, attaining to the whole measure of the fullness of Christ.  Ephesians 4:11-13

I have confidence that God’s will will be done tonight as we gather together for this class because this passage says it is part of His purpose and plan for building up His people.  It is part of His preparation of the body of Christ.

There is no reason to doubt the movement of God in this class because to think that God would assemble the group and the subject material to do anything less than move amongst us would be foolishness on our part.  The passage says that God has called some to teach and some to be taught all for the purpose of building up the body of Christ until we all mature.

I looked up the word nervous in the dictionary this morning and ironically enough after the expected definition I noticed a few interesting words.  Webster’s dictionary says “having nerve or bodily strength; vigorous.”  This morning I stand with bodily strength and vigor that does not come from within me but from my confidence in God’s word, Ephesians 4:11-13, knowing we are in the midst of God’s will.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

