Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Standing on Proverbs 3:5-6’

January 19, 2010

Last week in the middle school Bible class I teach I had the opportunity to share with the students the power of standing on the promises of God.  So often we get in the rut of learning the scriptures that we forget to actually apply them if you know what I mean.  It’s kind of like they are theoretical concepts or something that exist apart from our every day lives.  However, that’s not how God intended them to be.  The scriptures have been given to us to serve just as if God himself were in the room speaking to us.  In fact, when you read the scriptures He is speaking to us.  The power of the scriptures comes when we actually apply it, when we stand on the promises of God.

I have had the opportunity in life to stand on several promises of God and have seen Him move in some pretty amazing ways.  One promise that I have personally stood on is tucked away in Proverbs 3:5-6.

Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding;  in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.  Proverbs 3:5-6

At on point in my life I knew God was calling me away from the job I had in order to take on a job as a teacher at a Christian school.  As I considered the decision and looked at my life’s circumstances I pretty much came up with a mental list of all the reasons why I wouldn’t be able to make the transition.  I owned a house with mortgage payments, a new truck with car payments, credit card bills, college tuition debt, taxes, gas, groceries – you get the picture?  The big obstacle was that i was just barely making it on the salary I was earning and making the transition meant having to take a significant cut in pay.  As far as my understanding went, the transition would never work.  I had plenty of support from family members in that area too.  In other words I wasn’t the only one with that understanding.

Nevertheless, God’s word is true and his promises are real.  I remember being at a point where the decision was approaching and I needed to make a move if I was going to follow God’s leading.  Around that time in the middle of the night I woke up and Proverbs 3:5-6 was racing through my mind.  I actually had to recite it aloud in my bedroom in order to put my mind at ease so that I could go back to sleep.  Over the next several weeks I looked at that verse many many times and each time it seemed like it was clearer than the time before.  Trust in the Lord and not on your own understanding.  acknowledge him and he will make your paths straight.  Don’t  you know that’s just what he did?

I made the transition.  In the process I had to sell my house, trade-in my truck, pay off some debt and even find a new place to live.  Things that were way beyond my understanding, yet God made the path straight for me and I made the transition into becoming a teacher.  I love it!

God has preserved his precious words so that we can stand upon them.  They are meant to carry the entire weight of our lives and circumstances and then some.  The word “lean” in this passage literally means to put your full weight upon, to support.  The word “acknowledge” is translated as “know” over 640 times in the NIV.  If I may paraphrase the verse for clarity here:  Trust in the Lord with all your heart and do not put the weight of this decision on your own limited understanding.  In all your ways know Him and He will make your paths straight.

Wherever you are and whatever you face today, know that God’s promises are there for you to stand upon.  God is always faithful to his word.  Look beyond your understanding and take him at his word.  Then prayerfully act upon it.  Let God wow you with his faithfulness!

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

