Skip to content

::Devotional:: ’30 Years + 1 day’

January 11, 2010

Yesterday I celebrated my 30th birthday and this morning I woke up to 30 years plus 1 day.  I am so very grateful for the life the Lord has provided for me.  Not in the sense of what I own, or what I make, or how I live – but in the sense that the Lord has granted my heart to beat and my lungs to fill with air for every moment over the past 30 years.  In addition to that, he provided salvation to me through my savior’s death on a cross some 2,000 years ago.  In all of this I had no control and in all of this, I am extremely grateful.

My heart beats not because I make it, but because it responds to God’s command to do so.  My lungs fill with air not because I make them but again because they respond to God’s command to do so.  In the same way, my soul rests in eternity not because I earned salvation but because I responded to God’s gracious gift of salvation.  I am extremely grateful.

Psalm 107 was written to celebrate the Jew’s return from captivity and exile in Babylon.  As they returned to their homeland of Jerusalem after several generations of exile and celebrated a new chapter in their lives, they reflected back on all God had done for them and said…

Let them give thanks to the Lord for his unfailing love and his wonderful deeds for men  Psalm 107:8, 15, 21, 31

Although I am not an Israelite and was never exiled in Babylon, I was an object of God’s wrath and an exile in sin.  That is until God saved me through the precious blood of my redeemer Jesus Christ.

Many times I have failed the Lord over the past 30 years but his love is unfailing, his forgiveness is endless, and his mercy is new every morning.  I have ignorantly wanted for so much and yet needed for so little because the Lord has done wonderful deeds before me.  He has been so good to me.

I am extremely grateful for 30 years + 1 day.

-Stay rooted Col. 2:7-

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Deke permalink
    January 11, 2010 11:38 am

    Good word… hey, not even half way to 3 score plus 10, should the Lord tarry. It keeps getting better.

    • January 11, 2010 11:46 am

      Amen – there’s a whole new lifetime that can be lived between 30 and 70. Looking forward to what God has in store for those years and really looking forward to what he has in store once he returns!

  2. Kathy permalink
    January 12, 2010 12:07 am

    This was great, Tony!

Leave a Reply

