Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Equipped For Every Good Work’

December 7, 2009

This weekend I was doing some studying in preparation for an upcoming class and saw a connection between two passages of scripture I had never seen before.  I have studied each one individually before, but I guess I always missed the connecting line between them.  They are great passages on their own, but tied together they really bring clarity and insight into the Christian life.  

Ephesians 2:8-10 is one of my favorite passages of scripture because it describes how God saved me, why God saved me, and what God wants me to do now that I am saved.

For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith – and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God – not by works, so that no one can boast.  For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.  Ephesians 2:8-10

How did God saved me?  God saved me by grace through faith.  Why did God save me?  God saved me because he loves me and salvation was the love gift he gave me that I could never earn nor did I deserve.  What does God want me to do now that I am saved?  God wants me to experience being his workmanship allowing Christ Jesus to live through me and accomplish the good works that have been prepared for me to do.

Makes sense right?  Let’s take a look at the other passage of scripture as well.

All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.  2 Timothy 3:16-17

Now there’s a lot to be said about each application of scripture listed here like teaching and rebuking but for the sake to time we’ll save that for another post.  However, we’ll work with them collectively for this post.  What is teaching, rebuking, correcting, and training in righteousness through the scriptures useful for?  Yep, they are useful for equipping the man of God for every good work.

Here’s the connection between the passages.  Now that I have been saved, God expects me to be busy about doing the good works he has created for me to do and has saved me so that I am enabled to do them through Christ who lives in me.  But, I need to be equipped and that equipping comes through the study and application of Gods word.  With training I will recognize those good works and be able to yield to the power of the Holy Spirit within me who will enable me to accomplish those things.  Not only will I be equipped, but the scriptures say that I will be thoroughly equipped for every good work.

Be equipped today – take time out to read and study your Bible.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

