Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘The Power of Transparency – Confession’

November 24, 2009

Yesterday’s devotional, ‘Battling a Critical Spirit‘, was also the basis of the Monday morning devotional I shared with my co-workers and I was amazed at the movement of the Holy Spirit.  As I put myself out there and shared, from an honest heart, about my struggles with a critical spirit and how God’s word had given me guidance on how to quench that spirit, people began to open up.  For any of you who are Casting Crowns fans, you’ll know what I mean when I say that the masquerade masks began to come off and people were transparent to the topic.  I found that there is power in transparency and it is the movement of the Holy Spirit among a community of believers who are willing to be open and honest about their struggles.

If you have followed my blog posts any over the last several weeks you’ve heard me mention a book I’m reading called ‘Risking Church’ by Jim Kallam Jr., pastor of the Church at Charlotte.  The first time I read it was several years ago and I have to admit that his topic of ‘community’ was something I was very skeptical of at first.  Too touchy, feely, and emotional is the bottom line of what I thought.  However, this second time my thought process has been completely different and I was longing for the ‘community’ he talked about.  Funny how life works that way isn’t it?  Anyway, Kallam speaks from experience as he has seen the movement of the Holy Spirit among the church he pastors just like I saw the movement yesterday morning.  So what’s the big deal about community?  Well, over the next few posts I want to share with you what I saw yesterday morning in devotions.

A safe community needs people committed to being authentic with one another, living as fellow struggles in life’s journey.  ‘Risking Church’ – Jim Kallam Jr.

The Presence of Confession

It’s one thing to write about your struggles as a Christian on a blog that only receives an average of 4 hits per day.  In other words there’s a bit of a safety net there you know?  However, it is an entirely different ball game when you share those struggles face to face with a group of people.  I took a chance yesterday morning and let my co-workers see a major area of struggle in my relationship with the Lord and rather than stone me to death for my sin, they revealed some of their struggles with the group too.  With humility and ownership of our sin, we shared confessions about our critical spirits and we rejoiced in God’s word as it told us to stifle that spirit through humility, gentleness, patience, and love.  There’s something that excites me when I hear another Christian talk about their struggles.  Why?  Well, because I have difficulty relating to people who appear to not struggle as a Christian.  That’s like me trying to relate to a man standing on the moon.  But when confession broke out, the Holy Spirit began to move.  You could almost see him move around the room and stir the hearts of everyone.  Why there?  Why us?  What made the difference? I believe the answer is brokeness and there’s no faster way to become broken then to confess your sins and shortcomings to God and to other people.

James the Apostle wrote:

Is any one of you in trouble? He should pray. Is anyone happy? Let him sing songs of praise.  Is any one of you sick? He should call the elders of the church to pray over him and anoint him with oil in the name of the Lord.15 And the prayer offered in faith will make the sick person well; the Lord will raise him up. If he has sinned, he will be forgiven.

Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous man is powerful and effective.  James 5:13-16

Tomorrow I’ll share about something else I saw present in this moment of community, Forgiveness.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

One Comment leave one →
  1. deb robertson permalink
    November 24, 2009 1:59 pm

    I completely relate to the difficulty of relating to a Christian who doesn’t seem to struggle—for me, there’s nothing in common with that person!I often wonder what’s up with me—am I falling short and missing the big picture?

Leave a Reply

