Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Glory Days – Ecclesiastes’

November 18, 2009

I was only five years old when Bruce Springsteen released his album “Born in the USA” which contained the hit song, “Glory Days.”  I can remember hearing it on the radio and always wanting to have it turned up in the car.  Some things never change I guess, I still love to turn up the music in the car when a good song comes on.  Anyway, Glory Days has always been a favorite song of mine and as a kid I had no idea what it was talking about of course as I hadn’t lived much life to look back on, but now things are different.  Now I have a high school football career to look back on and an old highlight film to watch.  I guess I have some glory days to look back on at this point.  You’re probably thinking, “how in the world does Bruce Springsteen tie in with Ecclesiastes?”  Well, believe it or not there’s a connection.

Bruce Springsteen wrote

Glory days well they’ll pass you by
Glory days in the wink of a young girl’s eye
Glory days, glory days

And I hope when I get old I don’t sit around thinking about it
but I probably will
Yeah, just sitting back trying to recapture
a little of the glory of, well time slips away
and leaves you with nothing mister but
boring stories of glory days

Lately I’ve been looking back on the past few years of my life as I prepare to celebrate my 30th birthday.  Now, that’s certainly not old by any means but I guess for me I see it as a milestone in life and as an opportunity to take inventory of life before pressing further, you know?  I certainly heard my parents tell me to enjoy my time in high school because I’d never have a chance to live like that again and even though I didn’t think it at the time, they were absolutely 100% correct.  High school football was the focal point of my life for my entire high school career.  Everything revolved around it and just about all the memories I have and cherish were tied to it.  Honestly, there are brief moments where I wish I could go back and live those moments all over again.  Glory days.

So, all this to say that I was continuing to read through the book of Ecclesiastes, Solomon’s review of the meaning of life at the end of his own, and I came across a passage that helped me to put things into perspective.

Do not say, “Why were the old days better than these?”  For it is not wise to ask such questions.  Ecclesiastes 7:10

It seems to me the more I read scripture the more I realize that one of the integral components of wisdom is contentment.  One reason wishing to relive the glory days is unwise is because it means that we are not content with our current situation.  Think about it, if life today were better than it had ever been, who would wish to go back and relive some part of the past?  In other words if we are content with where God has us today, why would we wish to be anywhere else?  

The Apostle Paul wrote

…for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.  Philippians 4:11

…godliness with contentment is great gain.  1 Timothy 6:6 

I’m learning.  Slowly but surely, I’m learning.  The glory days have their proper place and that’s where they should stay.  I am thankful for where I am in life right now.  I have a great job, a wonderful little wife who I love, a big family, a good church and I have been saved by an Awesome God.  Sometimes you just need a little dose of eternal reality from the scriptures to get you back on track and get you looking at life from the right perspective.  We can all rejoice and look forward to the coming of the Lord and an eternal life spent with him. Those are the true GLORY DAYS!

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

