Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Chasing The Wind – Ecclesiastes’

November 16, 2009

I’ve started reading through the book of Ecclesiastes this weekend, mainly because I’ve never read it all the way through before.  In addition to that reason I’m also curious to read about Solomon’s spin on “the meaning of life.”  Solomon was the king of all things in Israel’s history including a miraculous gift of godly wisdom granted to him by God himself.  You name it, Solomon had it – and probably had more of it than anyone else around during that time.  So, when a guy like Solomon looks back over his life and writes about the meaning of it all – those are twelve chapters in the Bible I’m definitely interestested in.  

I’ve read four chapters so far and something has already captured my attention.  A small and simple little phrase keeps repeating throughout the writings.  In fact, in four chapters this little phrase has already been repeated seven times.

a chasing after the wind. NIV

vexation of the spirit.  KJV

Usually the phrase is preceded with something along the lines of “this too was meaningless” where “a chasing after the wind” is an example given as something meaningless.  Here’s a passage Solomon wrote about the value of labor and achievement.

And I saw that all labor and all achievement spring from man’s envy of his neighbor.  This too is meaningless, a chasing after the wind.  Ecclesiastes 4:4

Chasing the wind is an unending endeavor.  The wind can’t be caught.  In fact, wind can’t even really be seen.  All we see are the effects of the wind.  I remember being in Washington D.C. last year at the Washington Monument which is encircled with flag poles flying the American Flag high and proud.  It was an incredibly windy day and as I watched the flags I noticed that several of them, lined up right together, had flags begin blown in different directions.  How does that happen?  How can wind blow one flag one direction and another flag eight feet away another direction?  I don’t know either, but it did.  Try chasing after that!

This all got me to thinking this morning.  What am I doing in my life right now that is as if I were chasing after the wind?  It’s not as easy of a question as I thought it was going to be at first.  Life is too short to spend time foolishly and frivolously and I want to make sure my time is spent furthering the Kingdom of Christ rather than my own.  How about you?  Take some time and join with me in prayer and meditation throughout the day to see what the Holy Spirit will reveal in our lives as meaningless – then let’s make some changes to get away from those things.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

