Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Commit to prayer and watch what God does’

November 13, 2009

You know, there’s power in honesty and there is freedom in truth – especially when it comes to making known some of the things we keep secret.  Now don’t get me wrong, there are some things that really need to stay between us and God, but there are some others that we are afraid to admit before people because we fear how they might react.  One such thing for me is the inconsistency in my prayer life.  In a year’s time nature cycles through four seasons and my prayer life probably cycles through four or five times that much.  It almost seems like a motorcycle I just can’t seem to kick start and keep running you know?  One of the problems I’ve been able to nail down and know for sure is that I struggle with praying expectantly.  The Bible says I am to commit to prayer and watch what God does with a thankful heart.

This past week our revival preacher said something as a little side note that I heart loud and clear, mainly because I have said something similar many times in the past.  He said “God’s not going to do something for you that he’s already given you the tools to do yourself.”  My version of that statement has always been, “There is no spiritual bus that you can catch at the next church bus stop that will carry you to spiritual maturity, you’re going to have to hoof it yourself.”  I believe both statements are driving home the same point – if you find something broken in your walk with the Lord and you have the tools to fix it, then fix it!  I reckon it’s time to take a bit of my own medicine when it comes to my prayer life.

Paul wrote:

Devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful.  Colossians 4:2

The word “devote” there means to be steadfastly attentive unto and is used several other places in the New Testament, many of which are used to describe the activities of the early church in the early chapters of the book of Acts.  If there is one thing I know about the early church it is that they were extremely purposeful and passionate about what they did.  How do I know that? Well, because they faced the ever present danger of the sword of persecution as they went about their daily lives worshipping the Lord.  

Purpose and passion are what I desire to have in my prayer life.  Expectancy and thankfulness are also what I desire to have in there.  That brings me to only one logical conclusion for this mornings devotional.  The bottom line – get on my knees and start praying.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

