Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Unexpected Encouragement’

November 11, 2009

As I’ve said earlier, our church is holding revival services several nights this week and so far they have been very good.  Good in the sense that God has placed his finger on several issues in my life that needed to be addressed.  Let’s see, there’s been my problem with pride, my struggle with trying to be a godly husband – oh and of course the issue of seeking forgiveness from others and granting it to them as well.  It’s been good in the sense of the feeling after a good hard work out you know?  However, last night I received a very humbling piece of encouragement.  Unexpected, total blind side, encouragement.  It came from one of the wisest and most humble men in our church, Pete Craddock.

After the sermon on forgiveness, where several passages were preached including Matthew 7 “Do not judge me unless you judge yourself first”, I was standing around talking to various members of the congregation about all sorts of different things.  As I saw brother Pete come up to me he was holding out his bible and pointing to a specific passage.  He turned it so I could see it and there written in his Bible next to Matthew 7:1, with all the other notes he’s written down in his well worn Bible, was my name and the date July 9 2006.  Believe it or not, it took me a second to realize why that was significant.  I suddenly remembered that was the first day I had ever preached on a Sunday morning and that was the passage I preached on.  I was pretty much speechless.  To think, this man considered that moment in my life significant enough to write down in his Bible – forever.  You talk about humbling?  You talk about encouraging?  Yeah, like to the n-th degree!

In the book I am reading, Risking Church, Mr. Kallam speaks about stirring one another’s hearts towards God and good deeds and that comes from Hebrews 10:24:

And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds.  Hebrews 10:24

Another translation puts it this way along with verse 25:

Let’s see how inventive we can be in encouraging love and helping out, not avoiding worshipping together as some do but spurring each other on, especially as we see the big Day approaching.  Hebrews 10:24-25 The Message

There’s a lot of truth to that passage and I was fortunate enough to experience a piece of that truth last night as Pete encouraged me with that little note in his Bible.  My goal today is to share some of that encouragement with another brother or sister in Christ, in hopes of spurring them towards love for God and a love for others as well.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

