Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Humble Thyself In The Sight Of The Lord’

November 9, 2009

In high school I was involved in Young Life – Warrenton, VA.  It was the first avenue I chose on my own to pursue God and I’m forever grateful for the folks that served as my leaders then (some of them are still there now).  I seem to remember experiencing the worship of God through a song while I was there and I remember that one of my favorite songs we sang was “Humble Thyself”.  The lyrics were simple, yet profoundly true.  Humble thyself in the sight of the Lord, and He shall lift you up, higher and higher, and He shall lift you up.  I struggle so much with wrapping my heart around this simple precept from God’s word.  Pride stands in my way so often and more often than not it’s because I chose pride over humility.  That’s right, humility is a choice.

Our church is gathering together several times this week to hold a revival.  “Revivals” are big tradition here in the south and are part of the culture of many churches around.  However, revival is not something that can be scheduled, orchestrated, or generated.  Harold Vaughn of Christ Life Ministries, who is preaching our revival services, said that revival is God putting his finger on something in our lives and in turn we respond in obedience.  In other words we make a choice.  We choose to attend, we choose to listen, and we choose to respond to whatever God points out to us.  As I said before though, revival is not something that can be scheduled.  It can happen just as much at home in our quiet time as it can in church on a Sunday night.  We also have the opportunity to make a poor choice and chose pride over humility.    Maybe we attend, maybe we listen, but maybe we don’t respond.  Instead, maybe we resist.  We drive our stakes deep into pride and are unyielding.  Revival doesn’t happen in this state.

So here’s my confession before the Lord and anyone who reads.  I am prideful.  I resist many times rather than respond in obedience and I struggle with humility.  In fact, during the service tonight about “Pride” I remembered something that I have taped in the front of my Bible.  It is a little folded piece of paper a friend gave to me one time and on the front it says “The Lord is my God The Lord Alone – Deut. 6:4”.  When it was given to me the question posed was “What is standing between you and the complete Lordship of Jesus Christ in your life.”  I don’t know what anyone else would have written down, but I know what I wrote.  On the inside of the fold I simply wrote “Me”.  I stand in the way.  Perhaps a better word would have been Pride, but without realizing it that’s what I had meant anyway.

I return to the lyrics of that song from Young Life:

Humble thyself in the sight of the Lord, and He shall lift you up, higher and higher, and He shall lift you up.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

