Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Does Anyone Want To Swim In The Deep End?’

November 5, 2009

not my mom's pool

I’ll never forget my mom’s decision to put  an in-ground pool in our backyard when I was a kid.  I’m talking the whole nine yards – dig out the hole, pour in the concrete, pour the patio, and install the diving board.  I spent many summers aqua logged for sure.  I think I even started to grow some gills at one point. ha!  Truthfully though, I used to love to swim in the deep end.  For me, I almost felt like I was flying as I hovered between the surface of the water and the drain below.  I could flip, turn, roll, glide – you name it and it was possible.  I loved to swim in the deep end.  Even in my Christian life now, I want to swim in the deep end.  I want to swim in the deep things of God.  I want to go beyond the surface.  I want to go deeper.  Does anyone want to swim in the deep end with me?

Paul wrote to the Corinthians at point about why he was having to “baby them”, or to relate it to the swimming pool, why they had to stay in the shallow end with adult supervision.

Brothers, I could not address you as spiritual but as worldly—mere infants in Christ. I gave you milk, not solid food, for you were not yet ready for it. Indeed, you are still not ready. You are still worldly.

Every believer has to start somewhere.  We can’t walk before we crawl, we can’t run before we walk, and we can’t swim in the deep end unless we can swim.  Having said that, how would it look if we simply decided that crawling was as much progress as we wanted to make?  We found use for crawling and we found comfort in crawling, but running was not something we wanted to really work towards.  Kind of foolish don’t you think?  Same way with the shallow end of the pool – who wants to just stay there all the time?  There’s a deep end we can swim in!  Anybody interested?

As much as I loved swimming in the deep end as a kid I was always bummed when nobody else was swimming there with me.  The majority of the time I spent swimming in the deep end, I spent alone.  As a believer, not only do I want to swim in the deep things of God but I want to swim there with other people.  Friends.  People who are wanting to go deeper too.  You know?

Paul wrote to the Romans:

Oh, the depth of the riches of the wisdom and knowledge of God!  Ho unsearchable his judgments and his paths beyond tracing out!  Romans 11:33

Solomon wrote:

My son, if you accept my words and store up my commands within you, turning your ear to wisdom and applying your heart to understanding, and if you call out for insight and cry aloud for understanding, and if you look for it as for silver and search for it as for hidden treasure, then you will understand the fear of the Lord and find the knowledge of God.  Proverbs 2:1-6

Does anyone want to swim in the deep end?

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

