Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘If it ain’t broke…’

November 2, 2009

You probably want to say “…don’t fix it” right?  Well, although that is often true, I’m going for something else this morning.  In fact, the full phrase I’d like to use is “If it ain’t broke, break it.”  I’m talking about the condition of our spirit and our heart when it comes to the issue of sin in our lives.  See, sin never sits dormant in our hearts.  It’s either in a state of burning and scaring our sensitivity to the urges of the Holy Spirit as unconfessed sin, or it’s in a state of being removed and cut away as our hearts are purified and made sensitive to the Lord when we confess it to him.  Guess what God wants to be doing with the sin in our hearts?  That’s right, he wants to remove it and purify our hearts.  In fact, he delights in doing so – it’s one of the ways he’s able to display his sovereignty over sin and proclaim his position as creator over the created.

King David is referred to in the scriptures as a man after God’s own heart.  Wouldn’t we like to have that recorded in history about us huh?  Anyway, David made a major mistake one day later in his years when he slept with another man’s wife, Bathsheba, and killed her husband to cover it all up.  Don’t you know that sin was ever before him and was scaring his heart as long as it wasn’t confessed.  I believe in the midst of the whole situation, David still had a heart for God.  I know that’s crazy to say because of what he did, but think about it?  Ever sinned, willfully, all the while wrestling with your love and devotion to God?  Wasn’t it your love for him that drew you back to confess that sin in exchange for his forgiveness and a restored relationship with him?  I have.

I believe David had enough of a heart for God that in the midst of his struggle with this sin, he still knew what it was going to take to right the wrong and be restored to God.  I’m not saying he wouldn’t suffer consequences because of his choice, which he certainly did, but that he wouldn’t continue to let the sin scar his heart and cause him to run further from the Lord.

I think if God would have demanded the sacrifice of a thousand bulls on an altar in order to forgive David, king David would have issued a decree and immediately sacrificed the livestock.  But God didn’t want any sacrifice or any burnt offering and David knew that.  He knew exactly what God wanted because he had a heart for God and knew Him well.

You do not delight in sacrifice, or I would bring it;  you do not take pleasure in burnt offerings.  The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart.  O God, you will not despise.  Psalm 51:16-17

See, when it comes to sin in our lives, if our heart ain’t broke – we had better break it.  Meaning that we better get busy confessing it openly and honestly to God, calling it as it is.  “God I have sinned against you and I was well aware of what I was doing when I did it and I still chose to be disobedient to you by doing it.  You even reminded me in the moment of what your word says by bringing scripture to mind and I chose to ignore it.  You did your part and I failed you.  I am so sorry and just thinking about the whole thing makes me sick inside.  My only hope is that you say in your word that if I confess my sins to you that you are faithful and just to forgive me and cleanse me from all my unrighteousness.  Forgive me and cleanse me Father, I beg you.”

If we choose not to confess our sins, for whatever reason, that sin will ruthlessly burn and scar our hearts to the point where we feel no sensitivity to the Holy Spirit and we will stray from God.  It is guaranteed because God will not have fellowship with a sinful heart.  But, it is also guaranteed that God will restore a broken spirit and a broken and contrite heart.  Confession is the catalyst for God’s forgiveness.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

