Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘The King of Glory’

October 29, 2009

Continuing in  my study of King Jesus this week, I have come across another reference to him – the King of Glory.  Glory is a pretty big subject and it’s even bigger when we look at God’s glory.  One thing that I am reminded of this morning is the fact that my very creation and design as a human being, the workmanship of God, is rooted in his Glory.

I read in a commentary this morning that the word “glory” refers to someone’s weight or importance.  This has nothing to do with pounds by the way, it has to do with a person’s weight of power, influence, or importance.  One of my favorite movies of all time is a civil war epic entitled, Glory. The movie tells of the 54th Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry which was one of the first formal U.S. Military units made up of entirely African-American men.  The significance, or the weight, in history of these men is profound.  Although their final charge on Fort Wagner was unsuccessful it was valiant nonetheless.  It was in every sense, a charge of glory.

I teach a middle school Bible class each morning and one of the things we have recently been discussing is God’s jealousy over his people worshipping false idols.  To help them understand why God is a jealous God, and rightfully, I’ve given them the following example:  When you are the God of the universe, the creator of all things, the Alpha and Omega, you have nobody else to promote but yourself; nobody else to attribute worth to than yourself; you in fact deserve all the glory – that is why God is justified his jealousy.  I have to laugh because some of them definitely “get it” and some of them look at me like I’m from Mars, but such is middle school right?  Anyway, here’s a passage of scripture that explains this a little better than I can.

When God made his promise to Abraham, since there was no one greater for him to swear by, he swore by himself, saying ‘I will surely bless you and give you many descendants.’  And so after waiting patiently, Abraham received what was promised.  Hebrews 6:13-15

When making a promise to Abraham, God had nobody else to swear by except himself.  Did you see that?  He had nobody else to promote honor for or differ his honor to – He is the God.  Look at what else the writer of Hebrews said.

Men swear by someone greater than themselves, and the oath confirms what is said and put s and end to all argument.  Because God wanted to make the unchanging nature of his purpose very clear to the heirs of what was promised, he confirmed it with an oath.  Hebrews 6:16-17

When it comes to weight, importance, significance; when it comes to Glory, there is none higher than God himself.  Even He must swear by His own glory to confirm the certainty of an oath He made with Abraham.

I am reminded this morning that I have been created to reflect glory to King Jesus:

In him we were also chosen, having been predestined according to the plan of him who works out everything in conformity with the purpose of his will, in order that we, who were the first to hope in Christ, might  be for the praise of his glory.  Ephesians 1:11-12

All hail King Jesus – the King of Glory!

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Janie permalink
    October 29, 2009 6:38 pm

    Amen! I like this. This morning, I walked in from the parking lot with the stars shining brilliantly. Ursa Major on one side, Orion on the other. Just breathtaking. Both the human body and the heavenly bodies give me pause as I remember “What is man, that Thou are mindful of him?”

    Also, I like “Glory” too! Great film.

    And I get those “you’re from Mars” looks too!

    Thanks for such a thoughtful devotional!

  2. October 30, 2009 7:31 am

    Amen! Glory was one of the first big civil war movies that my dad took me too after giving me all the history surrounding it. He’s a big war buff. I believe he knows just about everything about every war. lol

Leave a Reply

