Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘The King of Creation’

October 26, 2009

Sometimes it’s pretty overwhelming to try to soak in all that God has created.  I spent some time this past weekend sitting on my porch and looking out my windows at the glorious display of fall colors God has placed in front of me,  and I was amazed.  “When the green leaves burst into the colors of a flame I wonder why October is time for the display.” – Todd Agnew The Wonder Of It All.  It reminds me of something I learned a few years ago about God and his Kingship.  A professor at Liberty University said that God is the King and creates like a king.  I had never really thought about that before, but once I heard it I began to see the truth of that statement all over the place.

If you remember anything from history class about kings and how they ruled, one thing that may stick out is that if they gave a command, it was carried out.  If they initiated a rule, it became law.  All the king had to do was “speak” and things happened.  Do you remember how God created the heavens and the earth?  Yep, he spoke it all into creation.  Just like a king.  Just like the King.

The Bible says:

But God made the earth by his power; he founded the world by his wisdom and stretched out the heavens by his understanding.  When he thunders, the waters in the heavens roar; he makes clouds rise from the ends of the earth.  He sends lightning with rain and brings out the wind from his storehouses.  Jeremiah 10:12-13

I love living among the Blue Ridge Mountains in Virginia.  In October, they burst into the flames of fall colors and it is just amazing.  As you travel around the area today and soak up the scenery, remember – the King of Creation, God – our almighty Father created every bit of it.  Worthy of our worship?  Absolutely.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

