Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Looking out for #1’

October 8, 2009

“Mine..mine….Mine…mine, mine…MINE!” say the seagulls in “Finding Nemo“.  The animators did a great job of capturing the nature of seagulls in their character creation.  Been to the beach lately?  You can just picture those seagulls hovering overhead,  waiting for you to leave you food for a second and then WHOOSH down they come fighting over your french fries.  Squawking “mine…mine…mine, mine” the whole time.  What’s funny is that we can often be the same way.  If we aren’t purposeful in our actions each day, we can fall into selfish pride rather quickly can’t we?  Suddenly “mine…mine…Mine, mine” starts coming from our mouths.  Not very Christlike behavior for believers.

We are reminded in the scriptures that being Christlike is modeling his humble selflessness.  As we saw in yesterday’s devotion, pride makes God angry.  In fact scripture says that “The Lord opposes the proud but favors the humble” (Proverbs 3:34).  I don’t know about you, but the last thing I want to think about is going toe to toe with the Lord as a proud person.  Yet, so often I can easily fall into that selfish state of pride where I put myself first and I look out for #1, me.  Have mercy on me Lord when I fail you.

Paul wrote that our attitudes should be the same as that of Christ Jesus in Philippians 2.  He describes what that attitude looked like in the following passage:

Who, being in very nature God, did not consider equality with God something to be grasped, but made himself nothing, taking the very nature of a servant, being made in human likeness.  And being found in appearance as a man, he humbled himself and became obedient to death – even death on a cross!  Therefore God exalted him to the highest place and gave him the name that is above every name, that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.  Philippians 2:6-11

If Jesus did not even consider equality with God something to be grasped, something to hold on tight to in other words, what in this world could I ever consider worthy of holding on to?  Nothing.  Nothing is more important than living my life as an obedient servant of the Lord.  Nothing is more important than me giving up my position as #1 in my life for the #2 position.  When I accepted Jesus as Lord and savior I gave position #1 over to Him.  Amazingly enough, doing so is actually the best choice I could ever make.

Rather than looking at our life and shouting “Mine…mine…mine, Mine” we should be looking at our lives and saying “His….his….his,His”.  What a difference it would be to say “I am Second“.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

