Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘In the morning when I rise’

October 6, 2009

I tend to go to bed late and get up early. Maybe I’m afraid of missing something in life. I guess I figure not much can happen while I’m asleep or something like that.  A night owl and an early bird, unique huh?  Interestingly enough though, at times in my life I’ve tried to do my daily devotions at night before I went to bed and they never really hit on much.  On the other hand, it seems like I get a lot more out of my devotion time if I get up earlier in the morning and do it first thing.  Could there be a reason for this?

Jeremy Camp covers a great song called “Give me Jesus” and the first verse and chorus go like this:

In the morning when I rise,
In the morning when I rise,
In the morning when I rise, give me Jesus

Give me Jesus,
Give me Jesus,
You can have all this world, but give me Jesus

Consider what David wrote in his prayer journal about the morning.

Give ear to my words, O LORD, consider my sighing.  Listen to my cry for help, my King and my God, for to you I pray.  In the morning, O LORD, you hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests  before you and wait in expectation.  Psalm 5:1-3

God’s word says his mercies are new every morning, and what better time to come to him than in the moment of fresh mercy?  Like a crisp fall morning when we can breath deeper, God is waiting for us to breathe Him in.  Just think of all the things that can happen over the course of a day and how much baggage we can carry into our quiet devotion time if we have it in the evening.  Provided we can even stay awake long enough to have a quiet time.  What a difference it is to come to God, fresh in the morning, to prepare ourselves for the day ahead.  I once heard someone say that a soldier would never go off to a day of fighting and then come back home in the evening to put on his armor so why do we think we have the option of putting on the armor of God in the evening rather than first thing in the morning?  It doesn’t make sense does it?

I noticed something else in this passage this morning and I think it is worth mentioning.  David wrote that he laid his requests before God and waited in expectation.  Recently in my life the Lord has helped me to see that many of my prayers simply vaporize once they leave my lips because I pray without expecting any results.  That means my heart is not in the prayer.  I’m simply providing lip service to the prayer request and we all know God is not interested in lip service.  

In the morning, when we rise, let’s bring our requests before the Lord, in the freshness of his mercies, and wait with expectant hearts for his answer.

-:Stay Rooted Col. 2:7:-

Below is a great video set to “Give Me Jesus” by Jeremy Camp if you have a few minutes

One Comment leave one →
  1. Eric Liller permalink
    October 6, 2009 11:17 am

    Tony, That song pretty much put it in perspective. What a great song. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

