Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘All That He Has Done’

August 14, 2009

As I prayerfully searched for content for this devotional this morning, I came to a verse that I don’t know that I’ve paid too much attention to before.  In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever even heard a message on it before.  Have you given much thought to the time Jesus spent here on earth visiting his disciples after his resurrection and before his ascension?

 

 

 

John, the beloved disciple wrote his Gospel account with the sole purpose of presenting evidence that Jesus was the Son of God.  Like many of you, I’ve spent a lot of time in John’s Gospel.  Yet for some reason, I don’t recall ever thinking much about the very last verse.

Jesus did many other things as well.  If every one of them were written down, I suppose that even the whole world would not have room for the books that would be written.  John 21:25

As Pastor Terry once told me, “there is a whole lot of life lived between two verses sometimes.”  I tend to forget that quite often.  We have so much recorded about Jesus in the Gospels of Matthew, Mark, Luke and John that its easy for me to get the mindset that all that was written down was all that actually happened.  But it wasn’t.

Look at John’s statement again.  If everything Jesus did were written down, the world could not hold all the books that would contain those writings.  Maybe that’s an exaggeration, maybe not.  The point is, Jesus did many things yet he had only one purpose.

Jesus gave them this answer: ‘I tell you the truth, the Son can do nothing by himself; he can do only what he sees his Father doing, because whatever the Father does the Son also does.’  John 5:19

Jesus was purposeful about joining God the Father where he was at work and it appears there was a lot of work going on according to John’s statement in John 21:25.  

So what can we take away from these passages of scripture this morning.  Well, two things come to my mind right away.

1.  It is very easy to take for granted all the Jesus has done

We need to take time today and thank Him for what he has done in our life, the lives of those around us, and what has been recorded in God’s Word about him for us.

2.  We need to follow suit and be busy in our purpose to join the Father where he is at work.

There have been several days recently where I have worked 11 or 12 hour days trying to get things done in preparation for the students to come back in less than a week.  I have been busy to say the least. Yet, I firmly believe that I am doing what the Lord has called me to do and I am committed to working diligently and faithfully in the tasks He has presented me with.  I have found that in the middle of a moment of frustration or even exhaustion, reminding myself that I have joined God at work helps me to refocus my perspective and gives me a bit of a boost to continue on.

I pray you have the opportunity to be busy in purpose today.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

