Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Searching for Greener Grass’

August 13, 2009

As the old saying goes, “the grass is always greener on the other side of the fence.”  The road leading to my house growing up ran right between two cow pastures.  Besides the striking smell that often accompanied my trips through there, seeing cows stick their heads through the fence posts to eat the grass on the other side was kind of comical.  Now why would they want to go through that trouble when they had a cow pasture, acres by acres, full of green grass?  Well, I guess they wanted that grass for the same reasons we can sometimes get caught up in thinking that what other people have is better than what we have.

 

For me it is often very easy to begin thinking about the things that I don’t have that I would like to have.  Sometimes I struggle with seeing people who are far away from God, perhaps who don’t even know Him, and are living by the power of their own hands become successful.  Like I said, it is a struggle of mine.  However, I am reminded by the scriptures that what I often envy will soon come to perish one day.  Rather than sticking my head through the fence I need to focus on the pasture of grass that surrounds me.

But as for me, my feet had almost slipped; I had nearly lost my foothold.  For I envied the arrogant when I saw the prosperity of the wicked.  Psalm 73:2-3

I’m ashamed to say it, but I have been there and done that.  I have envied the arrogant when I saw the prosperity of the wicked.  But, we can take hold of the scriptures and remind ourselves, as this Psalmist does,  that God is enough and we need not envy anything more.

Yet I am always with you; you hold me by my right hand.  You guide me with you counsel, and afterward you will take me into glory.  Whom have I in heaven but you?  And earthy has nothing I desire besides you.  My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.  Those who are far from you will perish; you destroy all who are unfaithful to you.  But as fro me, ti is good to be near God.  I have made the Sovereign Lord my refuge; I will tell of all your deeds.  Psalm 73:23-28

I am reminding myself this morning that what I have is more than I truly need and that my God is enough for me.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

