Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘We Will Not Fear’

July 30, 2009
004_Lion-Before-Storm-II---

The Lion A Midst The Storm

Sometimes I hear people say that they don’t think the Bible really is relevant today or that the theology it speaks about is so deep that it is to be examined more by scholars than sinners.  I think what people really mean is that they see the Word of God as separate from the reality in which they live.  However, nothing could be further from the truth.  I am relying upon the Word of God for comfort and guidance right now in my life and the only way I can do that is because it is relevant to my life.  Today I have found truth, reality, and relevance in Psalm 46.

 

 

One of my favorite words repeated through the Psalms is Selah which means “stop and think about that.”  I often find it is a good way to meditate on what the Word says in the verses preceding that little notation.

God is our refuge and strength, and ever-present help in trouble.  Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea, though its waters roar and foam and the mountains quake with their surging. Selah Psalm 46:1-3

The Truth

The Psalmist declares a Truth about God as soon as he opens this song – “God is our refuge and strength, and ever-present help in trouble.”

  • God is my refuge – I can run to Him in the midst of danger and find safety.
  • God is my strength – I can rely upon His strength; not only when I am weak, but when my strongest is not enough
  • God is my ever-present help – I can actually seek God in the midst of trouble and He is something I can secure and grab hold of as my help

The Reality

The Psalmist declares a Reality of his attitude based on the Truth about God – “Therefore, we will not fear…”  This past weekend I read a devotional from a friend of mine, Amy Covey, called ‘Why I need God’s Word’.  In her devotional she made the point that the Word of God is useful for correction and that we are to be obedient to it.  She goes on to say that merely hearing what the Word says about correction is not enough, it is the change [in our lives according to the Word] that is the obedience.  So is the case with this Psalm.  The Truth of God has been presented; He is my refuge, my strength and my ever-present help, yet simply knowing that is not going to help me.  I must be obedient to that truth and run to him when trouble comes.  How much more real can this passage get?  Are we going to face trouble in life?  Of course we will!  When we face trouble, the reality of our faith in God will be tested when we decide to run to him or remain alone.  We will have to face our fears and decide to be obedient to God or be ensnared by our fears.

This passage declares that there is no trouble too big that we could not seek God’s help in the midst of it.  Look at the catastrophic descriptions used to characterize the trouble we might face; a raging planet that causes the mountains to fall into the sea and for the earth to give way.  Could there be any bigger trouble?  If we can seek and find God in the midst of that type of trouble, surely we can seek and find Him in the midst of lesser things.

The Relevance

Just as Amy wrote in her devotional.  The change is the obedience.  Reading this Psalm is more than just a little piece of encouragement.  It is an opportunity for me to adjust my life, as it stands right now today, to the Word of God.  I am prompted to be obedient based upon what the Word says or to be disobedient based upon what I feel and what I want to do.  I’ve come to this Psalm with a fear and a worry, but what will I leave with?  The scriptures can not get any more relevant than that.  I am thankful that the Lord has shown me through His Word that He is available to support me and therefore I am purposing in my heart to run to Him. Selah

-Stay Rooted Col 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

