Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Waiting For God’s Decision’

July 28, 2009

I had a conversation with a friend the other day who described himself  by saying that a major part of his personality was that he was “a decision maker”.  I thought he stated that very well and I feel that describes a lot of who I am.  Now I’m not foolish enough to believe that being a decision maker is always a good quality.  I realize in my life that often my decision maker personality causes me to act before I’ve had time to think and more importantly before I’ve consulted with the Lord and waited for God’s decision.  What I’m really saying when I behave like that is  “God I don’t trust you enough to act in this situation.” Man I struggle with this, it is a major whole in my character.

I am facing a situation my life where I am compelled to act, yet I’m concerned that my action would be extremely presumptuous on my part.  I am in need of being reminded of the trustworthiness of God so that I do not act and therefore declare a bold and very negative statement about my faith in God.  He has led me to Psalm 37 for reassurance.

v. 1-2 Do not fret because of evil men or be envious of those who do wrong;  for like the grass they will soon wither, like green plants they will soon die away.

v. 5-6  Commit your way to the Lord; trust in him and he will do this:  He will make your righteousness shine like the dawn, the justice of your cause like the noonday sun.

v. 7 Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him; do not fret when men succeed in their ways, when they carry out their wicked schemes.

v. 28 For the Lord loves the just and will not forsake his faithful ones.

v. 34  Wait for the Lord and keep his way.  He will exalt you to inherit the land; when the wicked are cut off, you will see it.

God’s word reminds me that:

  • I should not be worried about those who do wrong because eventually God will deal with them individually
  • I should wait and trust that the Lord will bring justice to my cause and it will be apparent to anyone who can see, just as they can see the brightness of the noonday sun.
  • I should be still and wait patiently for the Lord and not let the actions of others ignite a responsive action within me.  (I’m reminded that one of the fruits of the spirit is self-control)
  • I should know that God loves me and already cares more about my situation than I ever could imagine to care
  • I should wait for the Lord and remain faithful in my study of His Word and commitment to His Will.

When we feel compelled to act, we would do well to wait for God’s decision because what we do says a whole lot more about what we believe than what we say.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

