Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘Stay Rooted Col. 2:7’

July 17, 2009

aspensSeveral years ago, in the summer of 2006, some wonderful friends of mine treated me to a weeks vacation at the Billy Graham Training Center at The Cove in Asheville, NC.  It was an amazing experience for me; life changing.  I ended up spending a lot of my time there just walking around and processing a lot of thoughts in my mind and taking inventory of my life.  When I wasn’t walking around and enjoying the beautiful setting in the Blue Ridge mountains, I was in a Bible study.  I spent 5 full days attending an in depth Bible study on the book of Colossians while I was there and ever since I have had a hunger for God’s Word.  In fact, I named these devotionals “Deeply Rooted Devotionals” and end each one with -Stay Rooted Col. 2:7- because of what God revealed to me during that week.

During my study at The Cove on Colossians the Lord brought my attention to a passage that continues to shape my life as a Christian.

So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live in him, rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness.  See to it that no one takes you captive through hollow and deceptive philosophy, which depends on human tradition and the basic principles of this world rather than on Christ. Colossians 2:6-8 NIV

Here is an excerpt from the notes I took on this passage:

Aspen trees are connected though a central root system and are the largest living organisms on earth.  Like Christians connected to Christ and through Christ to one another.  Supposedly the roots are representative of the branches in a 1:1 ratio.  So as I grow deeper, being deeply rooted, there are more branches of my life which will bear fruit.

This is how I desire to live as a Christian, connected with deep roots to Jesus and to my brothers and sisters in Christ.  Deep roots are going to lead me to an abundance of fruit and an abundance of fruit is characterstic of the abundant life of Christ.  Deep roots of knowing the truths of God’s Word intimately and being obedient to them will protect me from being swept away by some man made philosophy or ideal that is based on everything but Christ.

After my week at The Cove, I had a new perspective on my life as a believer and I have been working to sink my roots deeper and deeper into God through his word ever since.  I am big on the Bible.  As a Christian, not only do I need to have one but I need to read it and study what’s in it.  God has not only convicted me of that truth but he has convinced me of it as well.  I have been persuaded that studying His Word changes me.  

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

