Skip to content

::Devotional:: ‘My world is crumbling, does God care?’

July 14, 2009

rubbleLife has a way of progressing along through a series of ebb and flow moments from beginning to end.  There are days when we feel like we have conquered the mountain and then there are days where we feel like the mountain has crumbled down on top of us.  Sometimes the weight of a situation we are dealing with is so heavy that we don’t know how we’ll ever be able to get out from underneath it.  In those times, we may ask the question ‘My world is crumbling, does God care?’  I’d like to share with you today from God’s word that in those times we need to remind ourselves of what we know to be true of God, despite our current circumstances.

The Bible says that David was a man after God’s own heart.  A deep and passionate believer in God almighty.  David’s life is characteristic of the ebb and flow many of us experience as Christians today.  During a particular low point in his life, when the mountain was crumbling down on top of him, David came to a point of asking the question ‘My world is crumbling, does God care?’

David had a rebellious son named Absalom who had stolen the hearts of the nation Israel and set out to kill his father because he desired the thrown over the nation.  As David fled Jerusalem with Absalom and a host of men in pursuit, his world crumbling around him, David penned these words:

O Lord, how many are my foes!  How many rise up against me!  Many are saying of me, ‘God will not deliver him.’ Selah  Psalm 3:1-2

Perhaps David was thinking, how much worse could things be?  He was no longer the favored King of Israel.  He was no longer in power.  He was running from his son who was out to kill him.  The mountain David had once stood upon had begun to crumble – the weight of the world was upon his shoulders.  David said that many people thought this would be his end and that God would not deliver him.  Apparently David even paused to consider that thought as well. David wrote the word Selah at the end of verse 2, which means “stop, and think about that”.  Stop and think about the weight of the situation and the question of whether or not God would deliver him.  Did God care?  David’s situation and experience at this point might have led him to believe that God in fact did not care and would not deliver him.  However, as David pondered this question, he reminded himself of what he knew to be true of God.  Notice what he wrote beginning in verse 3.

But you are a shield around me, O Lord; you bestow glory on me and lift up my head.  To the Lord I cry aloud, and he answers my cry from his holy hill. Selah Psalm 3:3-4

David set out to put his experience and situation into the context of what he knew of God.  He reminded himself:

  • God is a shield around me – He is my defender
  • God bestows glory on me – He delights in showing Himself by acting in my life
  • God will lift up my head – He will restore me from this shame
  • When I cry out to God, he not only hears me but he answers me from Heaven – He does care about me!

Again David wrote the word Selah at the end of verse 4.  “Stop and think about that.”  As David mulled these truths about God over in his head, his outlook changed.  His plee of despair began to change to a proclamation of deliverance.  Notice verse 5 & 6.

I lie down and sleep; I wake again, because the Lord sustains me.  I will not fear the tens of thousands drawn up against me on every side.

David had resolved in his heart and determined in his mind, “because God is my sustainer, I will not be afraid.”  The question, “My world is crumbling, does God care?” had been answered with a resounding YES!  No longer were David’s words full of doubt and fear, but they were full of confidence and courage.  Confidence and courage not in himself, but in the Lord.  Look at the final verses of Psalm 3.

Arise, O Lord!  Deliver me, O my God!  Strike all my enemies on the jaw; break the teeth of the wicked.  From the Lord comes deliverance.  May your blessings be on your people.  Selah  Psalm 3:7-8

David wrote a final Selah at the end of verse 8.  “Stop and think about that.”  From the Lord comes deliverance.

When we face that question “My world is crumbling, does God care”, and we will likely face it more than once in life, let us be reminded that He in fact does care!  God loves us and is deeply interested in our lives.  Seeking God in the midst of a difficult situation may not mean that he will rescue you from it and return everything to normal.  However, it does mean that He will be your refuge, your shelter, your strength, your comforter in sorrow, your helper, your support, and so much more.  Jesus said “My grace is sufficient for you, my power is made perfect in weakness.”  2 Corinthians 12:9

Selah – stop and think about that.

-Stay Rooted Col. 2:7-

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

